Hypers post exercise

This is a secure and safe place for people to bitch, moan, argue, or rejoice (yes, really) about having Type 1 Diabetes. If something has inspired you or enraged you, here's your opportunity to let everyone know.

Hypers post exercise

Postby TeaBag » Wed May 17, 2017 8:53 am

Hi Everyone

This is my first time posting but I have visited the forum for a while (where I have always found good advice). I have an exercise issue:
- Last night I went for a walk (20 mins moderate) and had a hypo about 2 hours after I came home (I had eaten about 30 g before the walk, 30 g after coming back) and had to eat more for the hypo
-This morning I rode to work, it was cold and I felt it, and ended up on 26 when I tested at work! The ride is about 18 km and took me 50 minutes. I ate about 30 g before leaving with a bolus and 2 x 20 g snacks along the way (this seems to hold off the hypos). My morning BGL was 13 probably from overtreating the hypo.

Do you think I a) had a hypo along the way and am going through a rebound or b) did not have enough insulin in my system to start off with?
I have never been able to figure this one out some days I am about 10 when I reach others I am about 18. The distance and snacks are always the same and I start out about 8-12 mmol.

Am I starting too high to begin with?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
TeaBag

Re: Hypers post exercise

Postby LisaRRR » Wed May 17, 2017 4:49 pm

There are so many variables with exercise. It depends on your starting blood sugar, ketones, the weather, time of day etc, so it is difficult comparing evening exercise with morning exercise, especially if you are affected by dawn phenomenon.
LisaRRR

Postby Nicholas » Wed May 17, 2017 5:44 pm

What I find is that if my BGs are too high before endurance exercise, that actually going out on a run will drive the BG even higher.

For me this is around the 15 mmol mark.